I was over there…

and now I’m over here. Hello. It’s me, the Spinning Goth. I don’t expect that anybody is going to follow me here, so I’ll just continue to do what I’m doing and hope that people are interested enough to read this.

So…what have I been doing? Well, I made a pair of anklets, which I’ll put up a pattern for later but should be easy enough to figure out for anybody who’s made more than one pair of socks. I’ve also been spinning, including my first attempt at a cabled yarn. It’s a lot of fun to make a cabled yarn, but it’s much, much bigger than you might expect. Plus it’s quite time consuming. And I’m working out a pattern for a toy for my big girl’s birthday later on this month. So, a little busy. But not too bad.

6 thoughts on “I was over there…

  1. You lead, I follow…

    I’m really, really ready toying with trying spinning (I’ve only worked with a hand spindle and badly at that). What kind of wheel do you use?

  2. Hi Nancy! I’m so glad you’re here.

    I have an old, old Ashford Traveller, and for the stuff I normally do (fingering to worsted) it’s been great. Even with the rotten exchange rate these days, they’re still the best value for the money. Another wheel that might work out well is the Babe Fiber Starter; the owners of the company used to run a knitting/spinning store in Elmhurst, IL, and Nils the designer is a former engineer. Nice and light, and relatively inexpensive.

  3. Hi Bron! I’m very glad you’re here too.

    Just for anybody else that might be looking on…don’t panic if your name/link isn’t on the sidebar, as I’m still working on transferring everybody over.

Comments are closed.