H is for…

…hemp. Hemp is my all-time favorite non-animal fiber to spin. It’s slightly easier than flax in that you don’t have to spin it wet in order to get a nice, smooth fiber. I like plying it wet because I have more control over the singles that way, but I don’t think it’s necessary. Here’s an example:
h4hemp.JPG
The skein looks a little messy, but it’s been sitting around in the Basket of Doom for several months. Hemp makes terrific fabric; I made some washcloths for my folks this year, and they’re holding up well with washing in a regular machine. Unfortunately, if you live in the US, you can’t grow it like you can flax. Maybe someday, but not today.

Hemp also does some interesting things when paired with a wool singles and dyed with Kool-Aid. I’ll try to post a picture tomorrow. I’m not happy with what happened to the 2-ply when it was dyed, and I’m still not sure what the best way to set the twist would be. I’m guessing a blast or two of steam from Ms. Iron would have helped.

We’re still recovering from our Family Day, which I might write about tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “H is for…

Comments are closed.