Happy Mother’s Day

I’m posting this today in case I forget/am too busy tomorrow; I know I’ll be too busy this weekend. Sunday, May 14, is Mother’s Day in the US. Mother’s Day was originally began by Julia Ward Howe as an anti-war statement – during the US Civil War. Here is her original Mother’s Day proclamation; at least a portion of it:

Arise then…women of this day!
Arise, all women who have hearts!
Whether your baptism be of water or of tears!
Say firmly:
“We will not have questions answered by irrelevant agencies,
Our husbands will not come to us, reeking with carnage,
For caresses and applause.
Our sons shall not be taken from us to unlearn
All that we have been able to teach them of charity, mercy and patience.
We, the women of one country,
Will be too tender of those of another country
To allow our sons to be trained to injure theirs.”

From the Mothers Acting Up website.

This year, the Little Guy will be off on a business trip, so we’ll be celebrating Mother’s Day on Saturday. I think Big Girl and I will be doing something special on Sunday. Maybe even a parade…

