Mothers Day and the day before

As I’m writing this, Mr. Goth is in a hotel room somewhere in western TN, Big Girl is crashed in the room next to this one, and I finally have a few minutes to myself before I fall asleep. Probably here in front of the computer.

Since Mr. Goth’s annual debauchery week business trip was inconveniently timed this year, we celebrated Mother’s Day yesterday. I got books, flowers, and a fancy something-or-other. Plus a dinner that I neither had to cook or clean up. Here’s a picture of two of my presents:


Mothers Day

Originally uploaded by spyderkl.

One was something that I got to choose for myself – Knitting in the Old Way, by Priscilla Gibson-Roberts and Deborah Robson. It’s chock full of all kinds of goodness – a brief history of knitting and knitted sweaters, different shapes of sweaters, gauges, even some charts and intarsia/Fair Isle designs. I have been lusting after this for quite some time now. The other was a big surprise, and was part of the lacy something that I got. No, you won’t be seeing that.

Today, it was just Big Girl and me. We had originally intended to go to one of the Mothers Acting Up parades in town, but I came to my senses just in time. Instead, we went off to Tiny Town. It’s Big Girl’s favorite place in the entire state. It’s a miniature town full of cute little houses, which she’s still young enough to get a thrill from exploring. There’s also a mini steam locomotive that you can ride, and a playground at one end of the park. It was pretty tough to get her to leave.

All in all it was a pretty good weekend. After 4 years I almost feel like a mom. There are good days and bad ones, but I really do feel like Big Girl’s mom now. It was a hell of an improvement on my first Mother’s Day. I hope that all the rest of you moms and soon-to-be moms had a good weekend too.

2 thoughts on “Mothers Day and the day before

Comments are closed.