Tattooed across her knuckles were…



knucks

Originally uploaded by spyderkl.

love and hate goth spun. Well, there they are – my latest leap into sheepdom. Those are the Knucks that everybody else is making. I used the maroon-colored yarn that I spindle-spun a few months ago; all the other yarn is handspun, including the gray flowery thing on one hand – some of my first handspun, from a beginning spinning class. I think it’s Lincoln.

A couple of observations: I think if I make them again – and I might – I’ll use the child’s size, at least for me. I tried to felt these, but the yarn was already mostly felted, so that wasn’t working (as you can see). Yes, those are my fat, stubby little hands there. I also wish there was a satisfactory way to keep the fabric a bit more taut when doing the embroidery. I’m not real pleased with the job I did, but it was freehand so I guess I shouldn’t be too picky. I’m working up the nerve to post this on the Knucks gallery.

7 thoughts on “Tattooed across her knuckles were…

  1. Thise came up awesome! I think the chice of wording makes them more individual, helping to avoid mass fad.

    But I tend to have the opposite problem, women’s size glove/mitten patterns aren’t always big enough for my hands.

    Suzi

  2. I think they look great. They have a very cozy, comfortable look to them and seem as if they would be very cuddly to wear.

    Best wishes on all your projects!

    ~firefly

  3. Thanks! I’ve not had the best of luck wearing fingerless gloves, but I think they’ll be warm enough.

Comments are closed.