Santa been berry, berry good to me

We celebrate everything here. Our latest celebration was Monday morning. Big Girl made out very well, as usual. I doubt that she could even tell you today what she got, save for two things: her new Sweet Steps pony, which has been terrorizing the cat ever since we put in the batteries, and a doll made for her by Tianne. She named her doll Friend of Mine. It’s been going to bed with her since Monday.

Dad also enjoyed the things that he got, especially his iPod. In fact, he’s been enjoying it for the past month.

I got a couple of things; a copy of the latest installment of the Fables series, several bath-type things that Big Girl “picked out special” and an avant-garde animated movie (creepy, but good).

We also managed to make it out of the house the next day, which was a present in itself. Just in time for the storm today…

I’ve been knitting too; I finished a Candy Heart pillow from Domiknitrix’s book, and am now working on a purple Devil Hat. I’ll probably get it finished before the snow goes away. Oh, and I’m trying to come up with some handspun something for socks, for someone who appears to be allergic. When you rip off your socks in the car on a 20F day, screaming that your feet are itchy – and the socks are made of superwash Merino – that says allergic to me.

6 thoughts on “Santa been berry, berry good to me

  1. I’ve been wanting to pick up Domiknitrix’s book, it’s got some really cool stuff in it.

    I got a wheel for Christmas, it was an absolute shock. My husband and my best friend were in cahoots! Now if I could actually get some usable yarn out of it 😉

  2. I have heard of people allergic to the treatment for the superwash yarns try either pure wool or cotton. So Glad Big girl loves her dolly. I thought it was just nice to all have a little something for the tree to enjoy.

  3. Nancy: Of course you can! I’m living proof that anybody can learn to spin. 😀 Just have fun with it.

    Metal and Knit: We’ve had some problems in the past with wool – I had hoped that the superwash would help. I think I might try either cotton or soy silk next.

  4. Happy Holidays! 🙂 I was just thinking about ordering Domiknitrix’s book. I hope you’re keeping warm. If I could, I’d take some of your snow. We have none!

  5. Ana: Happy New Year! I like the Domiknitrix book – the techncal stuff is well presented, I think, and the patterns are mostly good. The one pattern I’m most interested in isn’t in there, but she’s working on it and it’s on the website. The snow’s not so bad right now – I can see parts of the road… 😀
    Shadkitty: Thanks for that! I’d really like to try the Panda cotton. The soy silk is knitting up really well so far – almost up to the toe on Sock #1.

Comments are closed.