Knitting, spinning and life

First off, I’d like to say hi to those folks coming over from Skippy the Bush Kangaroo. You may wonder why I’ve linked to a political blog. It wasn’t the first one (although I am a fan of Skippy’s and read the blog daily), and it won’t be the last. You may also wonder, rightly or not, what knitting and fiber arts have to do with politics. Well…

Many knitbloggers only write about their latest project and sometimes about their family. Some write about other things. A couple of other knitbloggers that I know of write about/are interested in politics, and aren’t shy about expressing their views:
Marilyn, the Knitting Curmudgeon. Cranky, opinionated, and a fine knitter and handspinner.
Stephanie the Yarn Harlot. A tremendous writer and published author, she writes about whatever interests her. Including some politics.
Leslie is a knitting teacher, designer, and contributor to Vogue Knits. She is also interested in progressive politics, and writes about it. A lot.
Lisa Anne Auerbach is also a knitting designer, and one of the few blogs I’ve seen that expressly links knitting/fiber arts with political action. She is also the creator of the Body Count Mittens (link goes to .pdf file).

Those are the ones off the top of my head. There are also writers like Redneck Mother and Lauren, formerly of Feministe who write primarily about politics and life, but are knitters and aren’t ashamed to say so. If I’ve left anybody out, I apologize – let me know about others in the comments and I’ll add them. Promise.

I’ll try to update tomorrow as well, seeing as how I’ll be off for a while very soon. Ms. ‘puter Box is going into the shop – keep your fingers crossed for a speedy recovery.

2 thoughts on “Knitting, spinning and life

  1. One of the things I have found most fascinating as I’ve become more involved in the knitting blog world is the fact that I may start reading a blog and really enjoy it for whatever reason. Then at some point a comment may be tossed out that lets me know this person’s political beliefs are in line with my own. I find that this is the case 9 out of 10 times. I wonder what underlying thing is speaking in a person’s writing that let’s us know who we are compatible with.

Comments are closed.