Weekend with Le Tour

This past weekend, we saw the first two sections of the Tour de France. Is this the first time they’ve had stages in England? I can’t remember seeing any before. Apparently it’s been going so well, the race might be back in London in time for the 2012 Olympics.

Anyway, I’ve been doing some spinning along for the Tour de Fleece spin-along. Sadly, I have no functional camera as of today. We’re hoping to remedy that very shortly. I did some spinning, though…

Saturday afternoon, I fought the other two TV addicts in our house for the Prologue broadcast. I already knew who won (damn the dirty Saturday Times! Damn it to hell!), but wanted to watch anyway. Big Girl quickly got bored with watching the sights of London rolling by, as a backdrop to cyclists, so pretty soon I had the TV to myself. I spun up a sample skein of CVM for my mom’s sweater. It was about 68-69 yards of 3-ply light worsted; about 13 wpi altogether, and very soft. Even with making sure the sample was well fulled before hanging it to dry, I’m not certain if this is sweater material. I’ll be sending it off to my mom tomorrow, so we’ll see what she thinks. She said that gray would be fine, so I don’t know if I’ll have to dye it either. Keep your fingers crossed…

Sunday I got to watch slightly more; it was Stage 1, from London to Canterbury (?). I mostly did some carding between pleading and finally insisting on watching “Mommy’s sports show”. I’ve got about 1.5 oz. carded, and a few dozen yards actually spun. As you can see, I haven’t gotten a damn thing carded so far. This whole first-day-of-school stuff is almost out of control here. We start tomorrow; Mr. Goth, Baby Goth and I will be taking her supplies over and meeting her teacher and teaching assistant. Even though it lasts for 15 min., it’ll be a big deal indeed.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to spin through Stage 2 tonight. I’m aiming for a whole bobbin, which should use the whole of my carding so far.

