Birthday aftermath

This weekend was both my and my sister’s birthdays, with one day (and four years) in between.

I actually got to go somewhere on my birthday. Granted, it wasn’t very far, and I didn’t go alone, but I did make it out of the house this time. School Girl and I went up to town, where I found the Grail-shaped beacon I’ve been searching for…for an embarrassingly long time. Plus we went to the vegan bakery for some snacks/cake-ish things. Really, really good. School Girl even got a stuffed chocolate cupcake, which was a huge bigger-than-her-head thing. She ate it all.

I actually got to talk to my sister twice, which was two times more than last year. I wish I could talk more about the conversation, but not just yet. Soon, though.

I’m also working on a new pair of socks; just something I’m making up, with no real pattern. I’m using Tofutsie – at least I am for the time being. I’m having some…um…unexpected problems while knitting with the yarn, which inexplicably is made with 2.5% chitin (crab shells). I’m sure there’s a reason for that, but at the same time – if you have any sort of family history of allergies to shellfish AT ALL, you might want to stay away from the Tofutsie. I’m hanging in with it, but I might not finish the socks. Not even the first one.

2 thoughts on “Birthday aftermath

  1. Happy belated!

    That’s a little weird about the crab shell in the yarn. It seems to me shellfish allergies are fairly common so why would they use that in the yarn?

  2. Thanks!

    The weird part to me was my reaction. My dad has a pretty severe allergy to crabs, and my reaction was exactly the same. Not quite as strong a reaction, but I didn’t expect it.

Comments are closed.