My favorite scary movies: 1-18

A quick note: I’m crossposting this today from my other blog. Normally I don’t do this, but for now it’s a necessity. School Girl has been pretty sick since around 1AM yesterday, so there hasn’t been much time for anything else. So…

A couple of things before we get started: I love scary movies. It wasn’t always that way. When I was younger, horror movies/television shows really worked on me. As an example, I watched Dark Shadows when I was 7. The first time I watched it, it gave me nightmares for a week. That didn’t stop me – it just gave me nightmares. Now, I enjoy most horror movies; except for the slasher/big-buckets-of-dyed-Karo-syrup movies, I watch ’em all. Most of them have tons of (usually) unintentional humor, and are best viewed with a group a la MST3K.

None of the following movies are in that category. These are mostly older movies, and about half of them have no blood flowing on camera at all. But they scare the sh*t out of me, so that’s why they’re here – in no particular order. Here we go…

1. Silence of the Lambs. No, it’s not a horror movie per se. But it scares me enough that I rarely watch this one, and I never watch it alone. Never. One of the scarier moments for me is when Clarice is in the elevator at the FBI, surrounded by 6ft+ men.
2. The Haunting. Not the crap remake several years ago, but the original 1963 version. Both Julie Harris and Claire Bloom are terrific in this movie.
3. Diabolique. Simone Signoret is both hotter and more believable than Sharon Stone. Prove me wrong.
4. M. One of my favorite movies ever. Why? Peter Lorre makes for one very scary, realistic (I would guess) human monster. If you’ve never seen it, I won’t say any more. Just make sure to hang in there all the way to the very end. You won’t be sorry.
5. The Descent. My favorite part is that the women aren’t scream queens waiting for The Big Strong Man to save them. Do I like the UK ending better? Oh yes. Yes, I do. Far more scary.
6. Nosferatu. Certainly not the classic vampire story, but for my money the best. I also enjoyed…
7. The Shadow of the Vampire. You even get a bonus monster with this one.
8. In the Mouth of Madness. Yes, Lovecraft was a rascist jerk; but boy, could he tell a scary story.
9. Call of Cthulhu. Well, okay, it’s not that scary, but it’s so beautiful I can’t resist including it. Plus my elder greenish master made me include this. So there.
10. 28 Days Later. I cannot explain why, but this movie works on me.
11. Cujo. This is the only Stephen King movie adaptation that scares me.
12. Freaks.
13. Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer.
14. Dahmer.
15. Rosemary’s Baby. When I was pregnant for a whoppin’ 2 months, I had dreams similar to this movie every single night.
16. Don’t Look Now. I have yet to watch this movie all the way through.
17. May. “If you can’t find a friend, make one.” I identify with this movie more than I’d like to admit. Um, up to a point – I’ll leave it to the reader to figure out where that point would be.
18. Brazil. Yes, I said Brazil. Bite me.

I must confess, I had some trouble with this list. I think for the rest of the month I’ll stick with movies that I both love and watch repeatedly. Meaning (a) more than twice and (b) ones that I went to the trouble of buying. Of the movies above, we own…oooh…roughly half of the list.

2 thoughts on “My favorite scary movies: 1-18

  1. I don’t really like scary movies anymore but you do have a few of my favorites on your list (and I also loved Dark Shadows as a kid). The one I would add would be the first Halloween movie. It’s the only slasher type film that was any good at all!

  2. I’m not too crazy about most of the newer movies out there. For me, scary doesn’t mean ‘gross-out’. I did enjoy Halloween, though. My Bloody Valentine was okay, but those are the only two slasher things I’ve watched all the way through.

Comments are closed.