Evolution of a project

So…I’ve gone back (because, you know, I don’t have enough things to keep me busy lately) to a project that’s been thumping away in a box for nearly a year.

It’s been just about one year since I cast on for the Body Count mittens. since then, I’ve been meaning to make a matching hat, based on Lisa Anne Auerbach‘s suggestion at the end of the pattern (link to .pdf file). I’ve tried many times. Many, many, many times.

Every time I start to make the chart, I’m confronted with this – and I stop. It floors me every time I see it. The enormity of the casualty level. And this is considered the most conservative reliable estimate of civilian casualties. Note that these are considered civilians. If a dead person is a member of the Iraqi government, or the police force, or a civilian militia, they are not considered civilians, and are not included in this particular count. The other body counts you might have heard of make no distinction between civilians and “non-civilians”. As if it ultimately matters.

One thought on “Evolution of a project

Comments are closed.