It’s Spring

The flowers that bloom in the spring,
Tra la,
Breathe promise of merry sunshine —
As we merrily dance and we sing,
Tra la,
We welcome the hope that they bring,
Tra la,
Of a summer of roses and wine,
Of a summer of roses and wine.
And that’s what we mean when we say that a thing
Is welcome as flowers that bloom in the spring.
Tra la la la la,
Tra la la la la,
The flowers that bloom in the spring.
(W.S. Gilbert, The Mikado)

I like spring. We were married near the vernal equinox 19 years ago tomorrow. Our daughter was placed with us in the springtime 13 years after that. Spring has been good to us, for the most part. It’s also the hardest thing to come by in this place we call home. On Easter Eve this year, we got 3″ of snow, which is nothing unusual. What has been unusual is warm, sunny, springlike weather. We’ve got some today even though it feels like it might rain any minute.

Evil Dad’s been home this past week, and I’ve been doing some knitting and such. I worked some more on my mom’s sweater:

momssweater2
I think I’m almost ready to start the neck shaping in the front. It might be going slower this way (all knit in the round as opposed to in pieces as written), but I like it better. Plus there’s very little sewing up to do this way.

I also started a new bag:
brghtnbag1

This is Brighton, from the spring Knitty. The yarn I’m using is my handspun hemp, which is a bit finer than the sportweight linen Lee used in her original, but it seems to be doing okay. I should even have enough yarn to finish it…

We also started some seedlings over the last couple of weeks. Some Chadwick cherry tomatoes almost 2 weeks ago, and some Aji Colorado chiles yesterday. I think we’ll be planting some poppy and kale seeds this week as well – assuming there’s no more snow for a while. Oh, and we planted peas the day before St. Patrick’s day – just in time for them to be covered up with more snow. My mom says that peas do better with some melting snow on them – we’ll see.

Speaking of my mom, her back’s been bothering her again. She had been doing much better; walking outside without her walker, going to the grocery store without getting a cart to ride in, even putting the walker away while in the house. For the past week or two, things had gotten a lot worse. On Friday, she went for an MRI, where they found some fluid-filled pockets in her back near where the operation had been. Right now they’re checking to see if there’s an infection, but she feels better since they drained the fluid off. Hopefully she’ll be able to come out in June like they’ve been planning.

We even celebrated Easter yesterday. An egg hunt, coloring more hard-boiled eggs, and the traditional Easter Deep-Dish Pizza. Mmmm….Spring.

3 thoughts on “It’s Spring

  1. Spring was in the air over the weekend here in NYC but now it’s just frakkin’ cold:(

    I am so ready for some warm sunshine and green stuff, lol.

  2. Nancy: Yep, me too! The sunshine is few and far between now…

    Karrie: Thank you! Mom’s doing a little better – she’s trying to get off the pain meds now, but is otherwise feeling pretty good.

Comments are closed.