One down, one more on the way

Well, I finally have an FO to show. Actually, I’ve had an FO to show for the past three days. Just haven’t gotten up the nerve to write about it yet.

The Zombie Socks are done. Here they are…

My Zombie Socks are done.  Stick a lighted fork in \'em.
My Zombie Socks are done. Stick a lighted fork in 'em.

They were a lot of fun to make. I’m pretty happy with the way they turned out. Even though it’s now in the upper 90s, probably for the forseeable future, and too hot even for my hiking anklets. I’m just hoping it won’t be hot forever.

The best parts: I really like the way the variegated yarn works with the dropped stitches. Really, really like it. I also liked the garter stitch border on the heel flap, which also seems to work for me.

The worst parts: Once again, when there are huge distractions going on around me, my ADD-addled brain can’t seem to handle more than a very, very basic pattern done in the Usual Way. So, with everything that went on in the past two months, with the end of school, visitors and the like, these socks took far longer than normal.

My mom’s sweater is almost finished. I have half of the edge ribbing finished, and am almost finished with the other half (just about 3/4 of an inch to go). Then all I have to do is weave in the ends, sew in the sleeves, and block. Oh, and figure out by telepathy whether my mom wants buttons or not on her cardi. She refuses to tell me – if I have to hear “Oh, honey, it doesn’t matter. Whatever’s easiest for you“, I will most likely explode. Really.

I’ve got some yarn and a half tub of fiber left. I’m not sure what it’ll turn into, but I’ll most likely make the last 3 bobbins on there now into three last skeins of worsted-weight 3ply. After that…I’d like to try some overdyeing while the weather’s still good enough to do some outside. But we’ll see. There are only 3 1/2 weeks of summer left to us here.
So…after the sweater is done, I’ll be doing some crocheting. I’d really like to finish the Seraphina’s Shawl, and my d20. And I’ll be starting on something else – since it’s Evil Dad’s holiday present, I can’t write about it now. Shhh…

