Done at last

I’ve finally finished my first shawl. Not from my handspun – I don’t think I have suitable fiber to spin for one – but my first knitted lace shawl. It was started in September 2008. In February of 2009 I put it away. Then last August (I think) I decided to give it another shot.

I ripped out the whole shawl – the whole thing, as I had completed the whole body before giving up the first time – and started over. Most of what I used was the unraveled yarn, but there’s a little unused wool in there. I think.

Last Sunday I bound off the border. Did I mention that I ripped and restarted the border three times? No? Yeah. But it’s done. Someday, when DadGoth returns home from the warehouse in town, I’ll be able to get a picture of it as well.

I do know that I need a better way of blocking the next shawl, as the pinning-it-onto-the-spare-bed method sucked royally. I have some other things on the horizon and needles, but I would like to make at least one more.

