Knitting and Crochet Week Day 1: A Tale of Two Yarns

Oops. I had signed up for Knitting and Crochet Week this year. I forgot. So now I need to catch up…

The first yarn I’m going to write about is probably my favorite yarn that I’ve made so far. It’s this one:

Art Deco: probably my favorite so far

This is something that I spun up from the Art Deco batt I bought from Karrie at Girl on the Rocks. It’s merino wool and soy silk. It’s beautiful, with a nice feel when you’re working with it. I worked really hard to get the colors the way I wanted during plying, but eventually I just gave up and let the yarn do its thing. This is the first time I ever really paid attention to color placement in a yarn, and I really like it. Even if I do say so myself.

On the other hand, there are some yarns that aren’t my favorites. There is the time that I worked with…binder twine. Yes indeed, I made a purse with hemp binder twine. It was this one, back in the Spring 2005 issue of Knitty. Good night, that was an awful experience.

I never thought I’d have to use hand lotion so much when knitting. Spinning? Sure. Especially for silk – I do housework, so my hands are…less than silky smooth, so yeah, I need lotion before spinning. But knitting? Nope, never again.

