Knitting and Crochet Week Day 3: Tidy mind, tidy stitches


Day Three: 30th March. Tidy mind, tidy stitches.

How do you keep your yarn wrangling organised? It seems like an easy to answer question at first, but in fact organisation exists on many levels. Maybe you are truly not organised at all, in which case I am personally daring you to try and photograph your stash in whatever locations you can find the individual skeins. However, if you are organised, blog about an aspect of that organisation process, whether that be a particularly neat and tidy knitting bag, a decorative display of your crochet hooks, your organised stash or your project and stash pages on Ravelry.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
Um. Which is to say that organization has never been my strong point. Not in life, and certainly not in my hobbies. I don’t have the heart to how you how my music is organized…

Anyway. I have my yarn in several different places. One is this:

It’s a giant wicker basket from CostPlus. This, unfortunately, is the bulk of my stash. There’s both handspun and commercial yarn in there. I know exactly what’s in there, how much of it I have (normally not nearly enough), and what sort of project will work best with each yarn.

Yes I do. Shut up.

I have a slightly different “system” for fleeces and roving/top/batts. They’re all in 25 gallon Rubbermaid tubs in the basement. Right now, I have 7 with varying amounts. One is the Shetland lambswool (see yesterday’s post for an example of that yarn), two are a Costwold/Corriedale cross, one is a black Dorset/Corriedale cross, one is the rest of a Jacob fleece, and two are two different years’ fleeces from the same Navajo Churro ewe. Then there’s the bags for my spindle: one has combed Pima cotton top, one has baby alpaca, and both are primarily for my “oh no, I need to spin something right now before I explode or run away” social anxiety kits.

But you know, if I need something, I know exactly where to look. If I can find it, that’s what is most important.

One thought on “Knitting and Crochet Week Day 3: Tidy mind, tidy stitches

  1. Exactly. (To your last paragraph.) That’s my approach to legal research. I may not know the exact answer to your question at the exact moment you ask it, but I know what law or regulations to look in for your answer.

    Now, things in my apartment are a different story altogether…

Comments are closed.