Knitting and Crochet Blog Week Day 4: Where Are They Now?


Where are they now? – 2KCBWDAY4
Whatever happened to your __________?
Write about the fate of a past knitting project. Whether it be something that you crocheted or knitted for yourself or to give to another person. An item that lives with you or something which you sent off to charity.

Once upon a time, I made an illusion scarf:

It was huge, purple, and very warm. I had intended for my daughter to wear it when she was a little older (she was 3 when I made it, and would have fit her as a blanket). When she was in 1st grade, she wore it fairly often.

Right up until the day it didn’t come home.

I still have no idea what happened to it. She would only say that she “lost it”. It never turned up at the school’s lost and found, never was seen again. I have no idea if somebody else took it, or she threw it away, or what happened.

That’s been a while ago, but it still hurts. She takes better care of her handknits now than she did, but I’m still a little reluctant to make anything. It would easily suffer the same fate as the scarf.

