Knitting and Crochet Blog Week Day 7: Your Knitting and Crochet Time


Day seven: 3rd April. Your knitting and crochet time.

Write about your typical crafting time. When it is that you are likely to craft – alone or in more social environments, when watching TV or whilst taking bus journeys. What items do you like to surround yourself with whilst you twirl your hook like a majorette’s baton or work those needles like a skilled set of samurai swords. Do you always have snacks to hand, or are you a strictly ‘no crumbs near my yarn!’ kind of knitter.

First off, I should mention that I’m not much of a social person. I’ve been actively working to change that, but I’m really not at heart. So normally knitting, crochet, or otherwise time is alone time.

Our normal after-dinner routine switches off between DadGoth and me; one of us supervises computer and bath time with School Girl, and the other tidies up the kitchen and has some free alone time afterwards. Which is usually when my crafting time happens. Sometimes I get some time on the weekends to just sit around and do my thing, but usually it’s at night.

Because of my sad lack of coordination, I usually don’t bother with snacks or drinks. Well, drinks happen more often than snacks… I also have my trusty iPod with me, so I listen to music or podcasts while knitting or crocheting.

If it’s spinning, that’s something I’m much more likely to do in public. At the doctor’s, while waiting for School Girl to get done with school or yoga class, on a long car/plane trip…that’s when I’m much more likely to pull out my spindle and some fiber. In fact, I usually have a drop spindle and fiber with me at all times, as part of a crisis kit. Which is another blog post for another day. I promise I’ll get to that one soon.

