Holiday Week

This week is the first night of Hanukkah, the Winter Solstice and Christmas Eve (AKA The Night Before Giftmas). All the cards that we have to send out of state, and some that are not too far away, have already been sent, along with all the packages. Well, okay, most of them went out today. But they’re gone.

For the past couple of years now I’ve not been in the mood to celebrate. Last year was, to be polite, tough. This year has been dedicated to getting past last year. That, coupled with a pretty major health issue, doesn’t make for much of a party mood. Almost all of our family have been understanding about the lack of presents from us. Simply, if Anabel or I don’t make them, there won’t be any presents.*

As I’m writing this, we’ve got a minor mountain of snow coming down on us. Not as much as we’ve had at times, but quite a bit by this year’s standards. It’s warm and dry inside, Anabel’s in her room and DadGoth is halfheartedly working. I have to find a way to finish a scarf so that the recipient doesn’t know, scare up some candles for this evening, and keep our dog and cat from killing each other.

Tonight is the Winter Solstice in the Northern Hemisphere. The longest night of the year. Depending on where you are, one of the colder nights as well. It’s all uphill and increasingly long days from here. This is why so many holidays are crowded in this time of year – to give people a reason to go on when it’s dark and cold. I’ll save my Grumpy Atheist® post for another day, but there are holidays in every major religion on earth that began in the Northern Hemisphere. As far as I can tell, they all have one thing in common: to drive away the darkness and cheer on the lengthening light.

Happy Holidays, kids.

*There are some people who I’d rather never give a present to again rather than make something. I think you know what I mean.

One thought on “Holiday Week

Comments are closed.