In the Age of Brass and Steam

Well, now that that’s all out of the way, time for some knitting-related content.

Last month, I received a beautiful skein of Mango Moon yarn in a swap. I decided to try another shawlette, this time for myself. The Age of Brass and Steam kerchief (ravelry link – I’ll post a more open link to my project page when I update it) looked like a nice one, and I probably had all the yardage I needed. So I cast on and started off.

Have I mentioned that I’m a little…unrealistic when it comes to estimating yardage? No? Well, take a look at this picture.

See that stripe there? That’s some of my handspun, when I realized it wouldn’t even be close to enough yardage to finish. I used the Mango Moon at the final garter stitch border and the cast off.

I like the way it looks, but I’m sure it looks a little weird to other people. I don’t really care that much – if I did, I would have either frogged it or ordered another skein myself.

