Howdy, 2013

This year, I’ve got a couple of goals in mind. Those will last roughly…a month, six weeks if I’m lucky. But this is my equivalent of putting my shoes and running jacket on and heading out of the house.

This year, I’d really like to try something new with my spinning.
Like core spinning. There’s a bag full of some lovely hand-dyed mohair curls that I bought at Taos ages ago. The only thing that’s been stopping me from trying it is fear I’ll fsck up those lovely curls and have nothing when I’m done.

On the other hand, it’s not going to get any easier the longer the bag sits in my stash.

I’d also like to be a little more…disciplined in my projects.
Disciplined = finishing what I start, in a reasonable time frame. 2+ years on a sweater, for example – probably not a reasonable time frame. I would never have something unfinished for that long myself. /walks away, whistling innocently

I would also like to learn a new craft/skill this year.
For example, another language. I’ve been wanting to learn Russian or Lithuanian for my own personal reasons, so I’ve downloaded some podcasts and want to give this a fair shot. Once upon a time, I audited a beginning Russian class at the college where my dad taught, but that was a very, very long time ago.

Also, possibly work a little harder on my electronics skills. It would be fun to make a jacket or bag with blinky things or a solar charger. But it would also be hella fun to realize my long-held dream of building a decent audio amplifier and/or receiver. Maybe even fix my granddad’s old tube radio into working order, and not just a pretty shell that holds a “proper” radio.

And finally, there’s this.
Bobdammit, but Neil Gaiman always manages to make me tear up whenever I read his New Year’s Wishes. And this one seems so foreign and daunting to me. But what the hell.

And whatever happens to us, whatever we make, whatever we learn, let us take joy in it. We can find joy in the world if it’s joy we’re looking for, we can take joy in the act of creation. So that is my wish for you, and for me. Bravery and joy.”

Maybe.

