Advice

Today’s prompt goes something like this:

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever received that you wouldn’t give to anyone else? Why don’t you think it would apply to others?
(Thanks for inspiring this prompt with your suggestion, glitterweaver!)

That’s a tough one. If I hadn’t committed to writing every day, I would have left this alone.

I’m guessing this should be fiber-related, so I’ll use this one. Someone once told me, “it doesn’t have to be perfect. It just has to be finished.” This advice was good for me mostly because I tend to procrastinate. Just a bit. I use the inevitable imperfections in any piece (especially yarn) as an excuse to not finish. Or put things off. Or not put things into a perfectly good Etsy store because they’re Not Good Enough.

Most people are not like me. Most people know what they’re doing and can fix what’s wrong with something without dwelling on the imperfections. Or use them as an excuse to quit.

