First Cast-on of the Year

Yesterday, I did a lot of knitting. I wrestled with finishing the Geek-a-Long blanket. Six strips connected, two and a half strips connected together with three and a half more to go. It’s kind of a hodgepodge; I’ll show you once it’s done, but I’m happy it’s just for home. Next year’s may be a bit different.

I also cast on for another shawl. The Wavedeck shawl by Kate Abernathy, in the Winter issue of Knitty, looked pretty good to me. Not necessarily a quick project, but fun; I like the idea of Pi shawls, and I’ve got some of that handspun from Spinzilla to use. Here’s what I have so far:
15556613663_9a33107f9e_m
It’s been a frustrating experience, trying to split the colors up in this particular bag of top. It doesn’t look like anything’s been split in the singles, so I gave up and plied it together however it landed. I think it’ll be okay. We’ll see.

