I Survived Spinzilla 2015

Yep, I did. My family did too, surprisingly – and I got very little pushback this year. That’s the good news.

The bad news is that I spun less than last year. I decided to go as a Rogue spinner this time. Last year, I made it to exactly 0% of all the events our team held. We live in the middle of nowhere, and it’s a big ol’ deal to leave here to get to anything except some hiking trails and a state park. So Rogue looked pretty good to me.

This is what I did:

Spinzilla 2015: the aftermath
Spinzilla 2015: the aftermath

Not nearly as much as last year, unfortunately. I think I did 1700+ yards last year; this year it was 1,448 yards. Some of it was 3-ply this time, and roughly 1/3 of it was spindle spun. I did make a modest dent in my stash: 6 oz of “mystery wool” and 2 oz of alpaca/CVM-cross blended roving.

It was a shite week, honestly. I’ve never been more grateful to have spinning as a distraction. There was a miserable job interview last Friday and not hearing back until this past Friday didn’t help much. This gave me something to focus on, and it helped me mentally. This year I had a goal of spinning every day, and I did that. Some days were only for an hour or two. But I did spin every day.

Now for what to do with all this. It’s Baby Goth’s fall break, so I think we might do some dyeing.

