BatFit 2016: One More Shot

bannerfans_16460531
Well, yesterday was the first of November, and the beginning of a new round of BatFit. BatFit is a health and wellness support program started by the lovely Franny at The Curious Professor Z. There’s a Facebook group (where I found them), and she has different challenges on her blog as well. She posted her goals yesterday. Here are mine:

1) Get a job. Preferably a job doing what I went back to school and got a hideously expensive certification for, but I’m getting more flexible at this point. I love teaching piano, but it’s not paying the bills any more. I did meet my goals from last year to finish school and get certified. Now for the big one.

2) Eat better. That’s a surprisingly tough one. Dad Goth likes to cook, and fortunately he is a mostly healthy cook (the exception being the insane amounts of red meat he eats/cooks). The only exceptions are his whining whenever I try to make a plant-based meal. Unless I cook for myself, that’s not happening. We have had “meat-free Mondays” in the past, but it usually winds up being some sort of veggie burger and oven fries. Meal planning, beyond “hey, I’m going to the store. What do you want for dinner?”, is going to have to happen. Especially if I hit Goal #1 soon.

3) Exercise. I would like to lose some weight. Realistically speaking, I am very, very old. I don’t think that’s going to happen. On the other hand, I still would like to be stronger. This fall I started Zombies, Run!; first the 5k training, which was going just fine until the game started glitching (it’s probably just on Androids), then I started the “big” game. I even treated myself to a membership for my birthday. I can get out every other day right up until something happens. Like a disastrous job interview, say a couple of weeks ago. Then my depression gets worse and not much will get me out of it. This time, Halloween happened. It was a fun evening “watching” our trick-or-treaters, who are almost too old to have anyone supervising them. Just ask them…
But today I went out and ran our dog for half an hour. Something happened to the program again, and most of the mission didn’t play. But I got 30 minutes in, so that’s a start.

4) Practicing every day; either piano, flute or both. Even though I’m not going to be teaching to make a living, I can’t seem to give up music. It really does help mentally, and piano especially is as good as lifting weights for my arm strength.

5) Spinning at least 5 days a week. Once I go back to work, every day may not be an option. But I can get an hour in at least 5 days a week. Giftmas is on its way, and I’m not ready quite yet.

So there they are. My goals for the year ahead. I see there’s a challenge up already, but I’ll talk about that tomorrow.

