BatFit 2016: My Goals, Again

I knew I’d have to be making my goals again for BatFit after making them on Nov. 1. Something happens to me between Thanksgiving and Xmas every year. This year, it’s been worse. BabyGoth has discovered baking. Whoo. So, we’ve had lots of sugar cookies, chocolate cookies, and cupcakes. The sugar cookies, mercifully, have gone to her teachers and school buddies. That still leaves enough to cause some trouble.

Here, then, are my goals for 2016. They’re pretty much the same as they were here, with one major exception:
6. Be nicer to myself. You have no idea how difficult this is going to be. A big part of being “nicer to myself” is being able to say no. No is a big one. It was something I had been working on several years ago, and it hasn’t gotten much better.

Normally I will say “sure” to something and figure out a way to flake out of whatever it is I’m not keen on doing. It’s not conscious, not really, but it certainly is a thing. If I could say no and not feel bad, and not offer an explanation, that would be a good thing for me and a lot of other people as well. So it’s a thing I will be working on this year.

And a new thing relating to my “getting stronger” goal is the Eowyn Challenge. Hiking from Bag End in the Shire to Rivendell is a hefty goal – I’ll be doing the route in the Lord of the Rings trilogy, not the Hobbit; just check the site, it’ll make more sense – but if I give myself a year… And I should be ready to do some real hiking in the mountains by next summer, which would be nice.

So, that’s about it. I’ve already started by making myself a decent breakfast this morning; no cinnamon rolls, but a couple of eggs and some rice with my coffee. So we’ll see about the rest of it tomorrow. Happy New Year. I hope 2016 treats us all more kindly.

