David Bowie 1947 – 2016

I first listened to David Bowie when I was in college. The radio stations that I was most interested in as a young kid didn’t really play glam rock, and when I was in high school the only stations available to me were country and metal. A fellow music major “borrowed” her older sister’s records and brought them to her dorm room. I listened to Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars and fell in love.

Later that year, I listened to Siouxsie and the Banshees, X-Ray Specs and Bauhaus and also fell in love. Over the years, I listened to whatever Bowie released; some I liked better than others, and some (like Under Pressure) I loved.

Over the past few years, Bowie had stopped touring but never really stopped writing and doing some recording. His latest album, Blackstar, was released on Friday, his 69th birthday. He died on Sunday. It turned out that he had been diagnosed with cancer 18 months ago, which I don’t believe was ever publicly disclosed until today. Below is the first video from the album, “Lazarus”.

He was always somebody who seemed to be happiest playing a role. Aladdin Sane, Ziggy Stardust, the Thin White Duke. His last role is in Lazarus – an old man coming to terms with his death. He will be terribly missed.

