Alan Rickman 1946 – 2016

I was stunned when I heard the news this morning. Baby Bat was too – I think her words were “That’s a happy way to start the morning.”

Alan Rickman died from what has been described as a short battle with cancer at the age of 69. He had recently married his long-time partner, who he met when they were in university; she was an economist and economics professor. They had been together for over 50 years.

Rickman was an amazing actor. I remember seeing Die Hard with my husband in a movie theater. Bruce Willis was okay, but damn> That guy who played the bad guy. He was awesome. That voice, too.

He played a variety of roles in movies, on television (he won a Golden Globe for playing Rasputin in a TV movie), and in the theater. My favorites are Dogma, Galaxy Quest, and Sweeney Todd. And the Harry Potter movies.

J.K. Rowling apparently told him about Snape’s backstory – just enough to tell him how to approach Snape’s character. He ran with it; if you watch the movies after having read all of the books, you can see it from the very first time Snape sees Harry in the Great Hall.

Here’s a little something that aptly shows off my very favorite thing about Alan Rickman: his glorious voice.


He will be terribly missed.

