BatFit2016: Checking In

It’s been roughly 5 months since I started BatFit 2016. So far, I have lost…well…5 pounds.

On the other hand, I have been eating better. A lot better – more plant-based meals, usually at breakfast and lunch because that’s where I have the most control over my own food choices. It’s been easier than I thought. Shopping and meal planning is a priority for me, though. When I don’t, bad things happen. Even with birthdays last month, I managed okay.

I’ve been exercising too. Since September I’ve been using Zombies, Run!, first the 5k training app and now the full game. I’m still the world’s slowest runner, but I’ve been hanging in there. My goal is to hike the first big section of the Colorado Trail; the first section is less than 2 miles from my house, and the whole thing goes about 12 miles into the foothills. The trail has been closed during the week and won’t be open full time until mid-May. Which gives me some time.

I’ve hung with this longer than just about any other exercise program I’ve tried. The story is really great; it’s kept me going all this time, and I’m almost up to the end of Season 1. Which seems kind of sad, but there have been some times when I really couldn’t run outside. 12″ of snow and ice tends to have that effect. But it’s been nice to get back out there. When I was in junior high/middle school I discovered that I could run and was okay at long distances. Then we moved and discovered that the cross-country team was for boys only. Which put an end to my running until recently. I didn’t think I would miss it, but I have. And I feel better mentally when I run or walk as well. Bonus!

I’ve only lost 5 pounds, but I have started to notice a difference in the way my clothes fit. The mental benefits have been what keeps me going (well, along with the story).

I’ve been doing some knitting and spinning, but I’ll talk about that next time. Promise.

6 thoughts on “BatFit2016: Checking In

    1. Thanks! 😀 I’m happy if I can keep my weight stable, but I really want to go hiking this summer. So that’s my incentive with BatFit. ❤

  1. Extra outside activity of any kind is a good thing, regardless of whether the numbers on the scale change. 🙂
    We’ve finally reached spring, which means that we’ll all have more cooperative weather for such things, and i’m sure by the time the trail is fully open, you’ll have worked your way into being able to handle it!

      1. *Cheers and applause*
        I can ~walk~ that far with no problem, but my running days are probably long, long passed…

        However, with some determination, i have managed to drop about 45 lbs in the past 6 months… i’ll be pretty happy with myself if i can drop another 30+ before the end of August. I’d like to hit my 50th birthday a full 100 lbs lower than i was at 40.

      2. That’s awesome! Keep going. I don’t seem to be losing any weight, but I do feel…stronger, I guess.
        Yeah, running should have been “running”. 😀

Comments are closed.