A post in search of a title

So this morning, I’m sort of alone. Dad Goth is out shoveling the foot of snow that fell last night, and Baby Goth is still asleep. As an aside, it never fails to amaze me just how much a teenager can sleep.

Most days I don’t mind being by myself. Not today. Being alone gives me time to think, and I’d rather not think about things right now. Lots and lots of things that nobody here can control, from the weather to employment to plenty of worst-case-scenarios that have been keeping me up at night. I’ll write about it once it’s over, but there’s no need to bore people with more than that.

One thing I can control: making things. I’ve been knitting quite a bit, and have written about that before. I’ve also been working on yarn for a rug. It’s chain plied Churro, in various shades of gray. I think I combed enough yesterday to fill the rest of the bobbin. The combs I’m using are 2-row Vikings, so it’s going slower than I’d like. Even slower than carding, at least for me. Preparing wool also helps me to turn off my brain, which has been really helpful this week. These past couple of weeks, to be honest.

So Dad Goth and I keep stumbling on, one foot in front of the other. We’re terrified of having to have a Conversation with Baby Goth about how things are going and what may be coming next. Dad Goth and I both moved during our teenage years, and we don’t want to do that to her. There may be no other choice, but we’ll do whatever we can to keep that from happening.

Sorry about the downer.

2 thoughts on “A post in search of a title

Comments are closed.