The Snow is Over!!!!!

For the first time in over a week, we have no snow. No snow outside. I am so, so happy. Snow is nice, but it’s May dammit, and snow time is over. Time for summer. It would be spring, but spring usually doesn’t happen here for longer than two days. Anyway.

It’s the day before Star Wars Day. Please don’t make me say it out loud – we all know it by now. I’m going to try to talk everybody else into buying Star Wars:TFA this weekend. Money’s kind of hard to come by at the moment, but we’ll see. Maybe some amigurumi of Finn and Rey.

I’m still working on the Dalek shawl. I had to dye more yarn and it turned out…a little differently than the first skeins. Yes, my mantra is “I think I have enough to finish”. So the bottom of the Daleks and the edges of the shawl are noticeably darker than the rest of the shawl. Sadly, I have no more fucks to give. It’ll probably be okay; I just don’t want to take it apart one more damn time. I’ll take a picture when it’s done and run it by the Girl’s Gang before I decide to post it.

Also, I have an idea for a spindle case. It’s a really specific thing, that would probably only interest a few people besides me (if any). I found, a long time ago, a pattern online for a coffin purse. I’ve made one out of cardboard for myself and really like it a lot. There needs to be some modifications – not built out of a cardboard beer-can case, for openers, and with some dedicated space for roving that won’t wind up stuck firmly to the spindle end in transport. But it’s just an idea.

School is almost over for Baby Goth. We’re going to have a high school freshman (freshperson?) in the house in less than a month. Where the hell did all those days go? She is somewhat better with endings than she used to be, but I’m not looking forward to this. Several of her favorite teachers are leaving; three are going to different districts, one is teaching only at the high school, and one is retiring. The one who’s retiring is a favorite of all of us. We’re sad to see her go, but she deserves some time off. It’s been a thrill to have somebody working with kids who enjoys what she does and sparks that in her students. I only hope Baby Goth will be as lucky next year to have even one teacher like that.

