Starting Something New

I began a new day job last week – this is my 10th day and I’m still there. So that’s something. It’s not the field that I expected to be working in – it’s an inbound call center – but the subject is close to what I’d ultimately like my day job to be. So it’s good for as long as I can hang in there.

There were three knitters there when I first started; two of us are left. I’ve brought my drop spindle to work, but the resulting yarn has been…less than inspiring. It’s the llama hair my sister got me for Giftmas last year. Not the type of thing you want to wear as a T-shirt, but I’d like to make it into a bag. Possibly. The color is lovely; a cinnamon-brown that is really pretty, and I’d like to make something out of this. I don’t think the mini spindle is the right tool for the job. The hummingbird Wooly Designs might be a better idea, but I can’t really take that to work with me.

Probably the hardest part of my job is the hours. For the first month I’ll be working the bright-and-early shift, which means I wake up before anybody else in the house. It also means I have to be in bed before everybody in the house, at least until high school starts next week. Next week! Yikes! My baby taking another step away from home. The other challenge is…well…being around normal people. This is not easy. There are a couple of other awkward people in my training group, but being awkward and all, we have a difficult time talking to each other. Ah, the joys of being Not Normal.

There are a couple of friendly people, like there are anywhere. So we’ll see what happens. Meanwhile, I need to find something to work on. I’ve been thinking of Asphyxiation with some bright blue handspun linen. The interior motif is easy enough to work on without too much concentration.

