A KAL that I might be able to finish

This past weekend, I was looking for something to work on. Probably knitting, but hopefully spinning too. At least something to cut back on the yuuge stack of stash yarn all over the house.

Reddit’s knitting group began their latest KAL last week. Two things stuck out in my mind:

  1. The KAL goes through the end of October.
  2. It’s a lace (or beaded lace) shawl project, with what looked like an intriguing advanced pattern.

Then I took a closer look at the pattern itself. The pattern looks lovely, and a challenge which would be a nice…distraction. Unfortunately, I cannot personally support the designer. Which is not to say that you might not enjoy the pattern, or have a problem supporting a given designer in their career. If you ask me, I’ll tell you which one it is, but it’s readily available at the Reddit r/knitting group.

For their KALs they offer the option of the “otterlace” category. If you have a particular pattern in your Ravelry queue, and it fits the criteria, you can let the group know you’re working on that one. Which I did.

Remember the Bat Shawl? This one. The yarn was very fine, cobweb-lace sized fine, and it blocked out smaller than I expected. This time it’s going to be a little different.

I’m using handspun alpaca instead of the Filatura de Croza, and it’s slightly thicker. The needle size is 1 size up – I think I’m using a US5 instead of the 3 I used the first time. So far, I’m up to inserting markers for the second row of bats and it’s coming along nicely. I think I’m happier with this so far than the first one. Not that I’m unhappy so much with the first one – I learned a lot, it was my first full-sized shawl, and it’s held up. But this might be worn more.

